قراءة جيدة - "الانتعاش" من قبل المخضرم في الجيش راسيل رايت

  1. جميع مرفقات الموضوع: -
  2. غلاف الكتاب
الصفيف (1) {["topic_id"] => السلسلة (5) "14913"}
عرض المشاركات 3 - 1 من خلال 3 (من مجموع 3)
  • المستخدم / كاتب التعليق
    المشاركات
  • #14913

    الرسالة الرئيسية والمهمة من هذا الكتاب المثير للاهتمام والمؤثر يتم التقاطها بدقة في عنوانها الفرعي:
    "هناك مساعدة للمحاربين القدامى وعائلاتهم. عليك فقط أن تكون مستعدا لأخذها. اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة ليست هي النهاية.
    تقرأ قصة راسل في أماكن مثل ميلودراما الفيكتوري وهو يصف سقوطه من مناصب الثقة والأهمية إلى ما يقرب من العوز ؛ ضحية شراب الشيطان.
    هذه رواية شخصية للغاية يكون فيها المؤلف منفتحًا وصريحًا وصادقًا تمامًا بشأن نقاط ضعفه. ويصف اعتماده على الكحول الذي أدى إلى فقدانه وظيفته في الجيش كمحلل للمخابرات ، والخسارة المأساوية لابن رضيع ، وانهيار زواجه الأول ، ثم تجدد الحماس للحياة والنشاط العسكريين بعد إعادة تدريبه كمصور عسكري. في ذروة الاضطرابات في أيرلندا الشمالية. بينما يصف نفسه بأنه ليس "جنديًا صعبًا أو قاسيًا" ، فقد شهد بالتأكيد واشتعلت به أكثر من حصته العادلة في حوادث الضغط الشديد.
    أدى شرب الخمر في راسل ، في نهاية المطاف إلى مغادرته الجيش ، وهو يربط سلسلة من المصاعب والمشاكل المرتبطة بالتحول الصعب إلى الحياة المدنية بما في ذلك الإسكان والتوظيف. إنه ينتقد بشدة قلة المساعدة والدعم التي يقدمها له الجيش ، ولكن بمساعدة علاقة جديدة تؤدي إلى زواج ومصالحة ثانية مع هذا الأب ، بدأت حياته تتحول للأفضل. استغرق راسل سنوات عديدة لمعرفة ذلك وقبوله أنه يعاني من اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة. أدى هذا القبول إلى قيامه بالاتصال بـ "Combat Stress" حيث قام بمساعدته وتصميمه الخاص على "التحسن" في رحلة طويلة إلى الشفاء.
    تغطي النضالات التي أصدرها المؤلف الكثير من قضايا قدامى المحاربين في القوات المسلحة والتي تعد موضوع العديد من الأوراق البحثية ، بما في ذلك حقيقة أنه ليس فقط الجنود المقاتلين الذين يعانون من اضطرابات ما بعد الصدمة ؛ أن الانتقال العسكري إلى المدني صعب بالنسبة للبعض ، على وجه الخصوص ، عدم الإبلاغ عن المساعدة عند الإخلاء ؛ عدم فهمك للمدنيين والوعي بأن أسرة الفرد ترى أنك كشخص مختلف ، وتغيرت بسبب تجارب سيئة.
    Russel الآن في "الجانب الآخر من العداد" الذي يعمل في NHS لمساعدة قدامى المحاربين الذين يعانون من مشاكل الصحة العقلية على التعافي. الكتاب مكتوب بأسلوب سردي سهل التدفق وقراءة شبه جانب واحد من مقابلة طويلة. من الواضح أن كتابة هذا الكتاب كانت مفعمة بالحيوية بالنسبة لرسل ، وستكون بالنسبة للآخرين قراءة مثيرة للاهتمام وغنية بالمعلومات مع رؤى شخصية في العالم المعقد ورحلة حياة لجندي كان مدنيًا الآن.

    المرفقات:
    يجب أن تكون تسجيل في لعرض الملفات المرفقة.
    #14923

    شكرا جيم ، ملخص مفيد جدا

    #14927

    مرحبا جيم،

    شكرا لمراجعة الكتاب. يبدو قراءة مثيرة للاهتمام وأنا لم أسمع من الكتاب قبل الآن.

    لقد أعطاني رأيك أيضًا فكرة عن موضوع محتمل في المنتدى حول كتب المحاربين القدامى / العائلات النظرية / القصص الخيالية / غير الخيالية التي قرأها الأشخاص.

    شكر،

    كريستينا

عرض المشاركات 3 - 1 من خلال 3 (من مجموع 3)

يجب عليك تسجيل الدخول للرد على هذا الموضوع.

A Good Read – ‘RECOVERY- by army veteran Russell Wright

  1. All Topic Attachments :-
  2. Book-Cover
array(1) { ["topic_id"]=> string(5) "14913" }
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #14913

    The key and important message from this interesting and moving book is neatly captured in its sub title:
    “There is help for Veterans and their families. You just have to be ready to take it. PTSD is not the end.
    Russell’s story reads in places like a Victorian melodrama as he describes his fall from positions of trust and importance to near destitution; a victim of the demon drink.
    This is a very personal narrative in which the author is totally open, frank and honest about his own weaknesses. He describes his reliance on alcohol which led to him losing his army job as an intelligence analyst, the tragic loss of a baby son, the breakdown of his first marriage and then a resurgence of enthusiasm for military life and activity after retraining as a military photographer at the height of the Troubles in Northern Ireland. Whilst he describes himself as not a ‘roughie, toughie’ soldier, he certainly witnessed and was caught up in more than his fair share of high stress incidents.
    Russell’s drinking led, eventually to his leaving the army and he relates a series of hardships and problems associated with the difficult transition to civilian life including housing and employment. He is scathing of the lack of help and support afforded him by the military but with the help of a new relationship leading to both a second marriage and reconciliation with this father, his life began to turn around for the better. Russell took many years to find out and then accept that he was suffering from PTSD. This acceptance led to his making contact with Combat Stress where with their help and his own determination to ‘get better’ he began the long journey to recovery.
    The struggles and issued experienced by the author cover a lot of the armed forces veterans’ issues which are the topic of many research papers, including the fact that it is not just combat troops who can suffer from PTSD; that military to civilian transition is difficult for some, in particular, the reported absence of help on discharge; not being understood by civilians and the awareness that one’s own family see you as a different person, changed by bad experiences.
    Russel is now on the ‘other side of the counter’ working in the NHS helping veterans with mental health issues to make their own recoveries. The book is written in an easy flowing narrative style and reads almost like one side of a long interview. Writing the book was clearly cathartic for Russell, for others it will be an interesting and informative read with very personal insights into the complex world and life journey of a once soldier now civilian.

    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    #14923

    Thanks Jim, a very helpful summary

    #14927

    Hi Jim,

    Thanks for the book review. Sounds an interesting read and I’d not heard of the book before now.

    Your review has also given me an idea for a potential forum thread on veterans/families books academic theory/fiction/non-fiction accounts that people have read.

    Thanks,

    Kristina

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.