Recherche en éducation

  1. Pièces jointes: -
array (1) {["topic_id"] => chaîne (4) "5257"}
Voir les messages de 10 - 1 par 10 (de 10 totale)
  • Auteur
    Articles
  • #5257

    Est-ce que quelqu'un mène actuellement des recherches sur l'éducation dans un contexte militaire? Je serais vraiment intéressé à en entendre davantage, car je suis tout à fait en faveur de l'éducation en tant qu'instrument puissant pour changer des vies, mais je dois dire que je ne connais pas grand-chose à ce sujet par rapport à l'armée. Mis à part ce que je suppose, il va de soi que la nécessité éventuelle de bouleversements réguliers et de déplacements impose une rupture dans la continuité de l’éducation et la nécessité de changer d’école / d’institution, quels sont les problèmes auxquels fait face la recherche?

    #6090

    Bonjour Kristina, viens de voir ton post. Pouvez-vous clarifier s'il vous plaît? parlez-vous de l'éducation du personnel en service ou des personnes à sa charge.

    #6108

    Salut Jim,

    Merci pour votre réponse.

    C'était vraiment une question générale. Ce qui m'intéresse, c'est de savoir ce que les gens font de la recherche sur l'éducation sous un angle militaire. Nous aimerions savoir ce que vous pourriez avoir à dire au sujet de l'éducation du personnel en service et / ou des personnes à charge, etc.

    Vos recherches portent-elles sur l’éducation dans un contexte militaire? Que pensez-vous a besoin de plus de recherche?

    Au centre VFR, nous souhaitons à la fois faciliter et participer aux discussions relatives aux divers aspects de l’armée / des anciens combattants, afin que les gens puissent se renseigner sur ce que font et se mettent en réseau, etc.

    J'adorerais en savoir plus sur vos recherches.

    Merci,

    Kris

    #6123

    Bonjour Kris, je comprends ton intention. J'explore actuellement la croissance des clubs de petit-déjeuner des forces armées. Généralement, mon intérêt principal est les anciens combattants qui réussissent plutôt que ceux qui souffrent. Les effets des changements fréquents d'écoles pour les enfants dans les familles de service est certainement un sujet intéressant à explorer.
    Jimmy

    #6135

    Intéressant de se concentrer sur ceux qui réussissent. J'aime l'idée de mettre l'accent sur le côté positif des choses, de créer un équilibre entre cela et les difficultés auxquelles les gens sont confrontés, qui semblent être de plus en plus documentées. Je vois que sur le Hub, nous avons votre journal "Les vieux soldats ne meurent jamais". Je serais vraiment intéressé de publier sur le Hub toutes les autres recherches que vous avez publiées concernant les anciens combattants et attendez avec impatience de lire vos conclusions sur les clubs des petits déjeuners des forces armées.

    #6945

    Pour le personnel en service, peut-être en vous adressant à la branche du Service de l'éducation et de la formation (SCE) de l'AGC, pour le personnel de l'armée au moins, j'ai des contacts au sein de la garnison de Bicester si cela vous aide? En ce qui concerne les personnes à charge, les fédérations de familles sont une grande source de connaissances sur le sujet. Il est également intéressant de regarder le nombre de primes d’élèves servies versées par les autorités unitaires et les conseils de comté. Elles devraient pouvoir identifier les changements au cours de l’année scolaire. aussi bien pour aider à évaluer la taille du problème.

    #6956

    Merci de m'avoir signalé les liens vers les SPP, Chris, je n'avais pas pensé à cela comme une source de données permettant d'examiner les personnes qui se déplacent…

    #16739

    Bonjour Kristina, je viens de voir ce fil. Vous êtes peut-être intéressé par mon projet de recherche de doctorat en cours, qui porte sur l'apprentissage des enfants issus de familles des forces armées dans une école primaire du Royaume-Uni. Je connais aussi d’autres chercheurs dans un domaine similaire. Claire

    #16740

    Bonjour Claire, ton travail semble intéressant et tous les articles que tu publies par la suite, y compris ton doctorat terminé. sera certainement une contribution utile à la collection de recherche de ce centre. Nous ne savons pas à quel stade se trouve votre recherche (et bonne chance, en passant), mais si vous recherchez toujours des participants à la recherche, vous pouvez rédiger une demande de publication sur ce site.

    #16741

    Les grands esprits doivent penser de la même manière, Jim, car je viens également de taper une réponse à Claire!

    Merci d'avoir pris contact, Claire. J'appuie la réponse de Jim - si vous avez des liens vers vos recherches ou d'autres travaux que vous avez effectués, n'hésitez pas à les partager et nous pourrons vous aider à promouvoir / envoyer des tweets, etc. de votre travail un peu plus ou obtenir un soutien pour tout ce que vous faites.

    Nous avons également des collègues qui participent au Alliance Service Service Children's Progression (SCiP)Par conséquent, il se peut qu’il y ait des parallèles intéressants à l’avenir lorsque vous publiez votre recherche.

Voir les messages de 10 - 1 par 10 (de 10 totale)

Vous devez être connecté pour répondre à ce sujet.

Bookmark

Education Research

  1. All Topic Attachments :-
array(1) { ["topic_id"]=> string(4) "5257" }
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #5257

    Is anybody currently conducting research into education within a military context? Would be really interested to hear more, as I am definitely in support of education as a powerful tool for changing lives, but have to say I don’t know a great deal about it in relation to the military. Apart from what I assume is the obvious, that the possible need for regular upheaval and having to move around means a break in the continuity of education and having to change schools/institutions, what are the issues being faced that require research?

    #6090

    Jim McDermott
    Education & Training Expert
    Perception & Communication

    Hi Kristina, just seen your post. Can you clarify please; are you speaking of the education of serving personnel or the dependants thereof.

    #6108

    Hi Jim,

    Thanks for your reply.

    This was a general question really. I’m just interested in getting some discussion going around what people are researching re education from a military angle. Would be interested in hear about what you might have to say re education of serving personnel and/or dependents etc.

    Does your research relate to education within a military context? What do you think needs more research?

    We at the VFR Hub are interested in both facilitating and participating in discussions relating to various aspects of the military/veterans, so people can learn of what one another are doing and network etc.

    Would love to hear more about your research.

    Thanks,

    Kris

    #6123

    Jim McDermott
    Education & Training Expert
    Perception & Communication

    Hi Kris, I understand your intent. I am currently exploring the growth of Armed Forces Breakfast Clubs. Generally my main interest is in veterans who succeed rather than those who suffer. The effects of frequent changes of schools for children in service families is certainly an interesting topic to explore.
    Jim

    #6135

    Interesting to have a focus on those who succeed. I like the idea of emphasising the successful side of things, to create a balance between that and the difficulties people face, which seem to be becoming increasingly documented. I see that here on the Hub we have your ‘Old soldiers never die’ paper. Would be really interested to feature on the Hub any other research you have published that relates to veterans, and look forward to reading your findings re Armed Forces Breakfast Clubs.

    #6945

    For in-service personnel, perhaps approaching the Education and Training Service (ETS) branch of the AGC, for Army personnel at least, I have some contacts within the Bicester Garrison if thats of any help? With regards to dependents, the families federations are a great source of knowledge on the topic, and its also worth looking at the number of service pupil premiums given out by unitary authorities and county councils, they should be able to identify moves within the school year as well to help assess the size of the problem.

    #6956

    Thanks for pointing out links to SPPs, Chris, I hadn’t thought of this as a source of data for looking into movers…

    #16739

    Hi Kristina, I’ve just seen this thread. You may be interested in my current PhD research project which is investigating the learning lives of children from armed forces families in a UK primary school. I also know others researching in a similar field. Claire.

    #16740

    Jim McDermott
    Education & Training Expert
    Perception & Communication

    Hi Claire, your work sounds interesting and any papers you subsequently publish, including your finished Ph.D. will certainly be a useful contribution to this hub’s research collection. We don’t know what stage you are at with your research (and good luck with that, by the way) but if you are still seeking research participants then you could draft a request for publication on this site.

    #16741

    Great minds must think alike, Jim, as I was also just typing out a reply to Claire!

    Thanks for getting in touch, Claire. I second Jim’s reply – if you have any links to your research or other work you’ve done then do feel free to share and we can help promote/tweet etc. We also accept guest blog posts if you’d like to advertise any aspects of your work a little more or gain support for anything else you are doing.

    We also have colleagues who are involved with the Service Children’s Progression (SCiP) Alliance, so there might be some interesting parallels there in the future when you publish your research.

    #22224

    Hi Jim and Kristina, thank you for your interest in my work. This is just to let you know that I have now completed my ESRC-funded PhD at the School of Education, University of Bristol. My thesis title is Not “just a school day”: An arts-based dialogic inquiry into the learning lives of children from armed forces families in a UK primary school.

    I will share the link with you once it is available in the University of Bristol’s repository. I would be interested in writing a guest blog post for the VFR Hub.

    Best wishes, Claire.

    #22232

    Jim McDermott
    Education & Training Expert
    Perception & Communication

    Hi Claire,
    First of all congratulations on finishing your PhD, I trust you found time to celebrate appropriately!
    I look forward to being able to read your work once the link is published. I have a particular interest
    not just in veterans issues generally but also your study sparked my attention because all three of my children
    went to Armed Forces school overseas – in the 1960s and 70s. A blog about your work would be very welcome
    and please make sure you promote your PhD completion and the link on Twitter to reach a wide audience.
    Regards
    Jim

    #22250

    Hi Claire,

    Congratulations! Lovely to hear from you again. I echo what Jim said and look forward to reading your thesis. You are welcome to send your blog post directly to me if you like: kristina.fleuty@aru.ac.uk – excellent, we are always really keen to receive guest posts for the blog.

    Many thanks,

    Kristina

    #22267

    Hi Jim and Kristina,

    Thank you so much. Still waiting to celebrate – one day perhaps! I will work on a blog post and be in touch soon.

    Best wishes,
    Claire.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.