Transition Webinar Series: Transition via Education – A Scottish Perspective
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

4th May 2021 @ 9:00 pm - 11:30 pm

You are invited to join us for the next Webinar in the series where we continue our discussions on the “Role of Education in enhancing Wellbeing and Life Outcomes for Military Service Members, Veterans and their Families” with a presentation from Scotland.

“Transition via Education – A Scottish Perspective.”

In this presentation Mr Jim Castle, Ms Claire Biggar & Dr Gerri Matthews Smith will share about the Higher Education and Further Education (HeFe) Veterans Champions Network in Scotland, its vision, focus and work.  This includes its work in the area of the SCQF (Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework) and the opportunities for the Higher Education Sector to collaborate with the Ministry of Defence on educational offerings.

They will also provide a briefing on the two year Forces in Mind Trust Research Study into Transition in Scotland (in partnership with University of Edinburgh), creation of a Scottish Research Hub and the creation of a Edinburgh Napier University’s Military Centre which will incorporate three key themes (Research, Education & Public Engagement)

Presenters

Mr Jim Castle FRICS FHEA, Chairman of the Higher Education and Further Education Veterans Champions Network in Scotland, Chairman of the UK Council of Military Education Committees, and Glasgow Clyde University’s Veterans and Armed Forces Champion

Ms Claire Biggar, Vice-Chair of the Higher Education and Further Education Veterans Champions Network in Scotland, and, Secretary of the Military Education Committee, Edinburgh Napier University. 

 Dr Gerri Matthews- Smith, FHEA, Associate Research Professor, and University Lead Military Research, Edinburgh Napier University

Date:

Wednesday 5th of May 2021

Time:

Australia 6.00 am Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra and Brisbane

New Zealand 8.00 am – 10.00 am

The Netherlands 10.00 pm Amsterdam, Tuesday 4th of May 2021

The UK 9.00 pm London, Tuesday 4th of May 2021

Canada 4.00 pm Toronto, 1.00 pm Vancouver, Tuesday 4th of May 2021

The USA 4.00 pm New York, 1.00 pm Los Angeles, Tuesday 4th of May 2021

There will be a one hour presentation followed by a one hour interactive Q&A session that will allow participants to ask the presenters questions about points raised in the presentation or current issues on transition related to their work.

TO REGISTER

To participate in this Webinar with Mr Jim Castle, Ms Claire Biggar & Dr Gerri Matthews Smith please register here

When you have registered you will receive information on how to access the webinar online.

Details

Date:
4th May 2021
Time:
9:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, ,
Website:
https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_3li9XSr0RxKNm3QFF3QJiA