الـ تحالف SCiP لديها رؤية لحياة مزدهرة لجميع أطفال عائلات القوات المسلحة (بما في ذلك المحميات ، والذين يخدمون في الوقت الحالي والمحاربين القدامى) وتؤمن بقوة التعاون لإحداث التغيير. تساعد الشراكات وشبكة المحاور الوطنية التابعة للتحالف الباحثين وواضعي السياسات والممارسين على العمل بشكل أكثر فعالية معًا لاستهداف الدعم القائم على الأدلة في الاحتياجات المحددة في نظام متماسك حتى يتمكن أطفال الخدمة من إجراء انتقالات مستنيرة وواثقة من خلال التعليم الإضافي إلى حياة مزدهرة.

وجدت الأبحاث التي أجرتها جامعة وينشستر (McCullouch and Hall، 2016) أن أطفال الخدمة ممثلون تمثيلا ناقصا بشكل كبير في التعليم العالي. علاوة على ذلك ، أظهرت الأبحاث التي أجراها مجموعة من الشركاء أن أطفال الخدمة يمكن أن يتعرضوا لاضطرابات اجتماعية وعاطفية كبيرة تؤثر على صحتهم العقلية ورفاهيتهم. حدد أصحاب المصلحة في 172 المشاركين في استشارة أصحاب المصلحة في 2018 في SCiP Alliance التأثيرات مثل الضغط الأسري الدوري ، والقضايا المتعلقة باستمرارية المناهج وتجربة التغييرات المتكررة التي تنتج عقلية عابرة والتي يمكن أن تؤثر على الطريقة التي يستجيب بها أطفال الخدمة للمواقف ، والمشاركة مع المدرسة وغيرها من الأنشطة ، شكل العلاقات والتفكير في مستقبلهم. شعر ثلاثة أرباع المستطلعين إما "كليًا" أو "معظمهم" أن "خبرات الأطفال في الخدمة يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير على تعليمهم يختلف اختلافًا كبيرًا عن التحديات والفرص التي تواجهها المجموعات الأخرى". قد يحصل أطفال الخدمة أيضًا على نقاط قوة كبيرة من تجاربهم ، وربما اضطروا إلى العمل بجدية أكبر لتحقيقها على قدم المساواة مع أقرانهم ولديهم في كثير من الأحيان شعور قوي بالهوية والخدمة العامة (McCullouch و Hall 2016).

يعمل تحالف SCiP مع شركاء وطنيين مثل وزارة الدفاع ، وزارة التعليم ، مكتب الطلاب ، أوفستيد و UCAS ومجموعة كبيرة من HE و FE و LA والشركاء الخيريين وأنشأ شبكة من Hubs عبر المملكة المتحدة بقيادة شركاء من هم المبدعون في هذا المجال. لم يؤد النهج التعاوني المتكامل للجمع بين الباحثين والممارسين وواضعي السياسات إلى تعاون بحثي جديد وإلى موارد عملية مستنيرة بالبحوث ولكن أيضًا إلى تغييرات منهجية مثل اعتراف مكتب الطلاب (OfS) بطلاب الخدمة كواحد المجموعة المستهدفة للوصول HEI. لقد عملنا عن كثب مع OfS لتطوير إرشادات لمؤسسات التعليم العالي لأنها وضعت خطط الوصول والمشاركة الخاصة بها ، وتعاوننا مؤخرًا مع UCAS على توجيهات للمتقدمين بطلبات سعادة من عائلات الخدمة وبشأن تقديم العلم في نموذج طلب UCAS من 2020 . لن يسمح هذا فقط لمؤسسات التعليم العالي بتحديد ودعم الطلاب ولكن أيضًا سيعزز البحث في المستقبل من خلال تقديم بيانات أكثر دقة حول أعداد الطلاب.

تعمل الاستجابة الواسعة من القطاع ، مع تولي الشركاء زمام المبادرة وتطوير البحوث والممارسات الجديدة المبتكرة في شبكة وطنية متماسكة ، على تحويل مشهد البحث والممارسة والسياسة في هذا المجال ، ويسعدنا أن نتشارك مع معهد المحاربين القدامى والأسر للبحوث الاجتماعية العسكرية والقوات في العقل مركز أبحاث الثقة في جامعة أنجليا روسكين لتطوير التعاون البحوث الجديدة وإنشاء SCiP التحالف إيست أنجليا المحور.

The SCiP Alliance has a vision of thriving lives for all children of armed forces families (including reserves, those currently serving and veterans) and believes in the power of collaboration to effect change. The Alliance’s national partnerships and network of Hubs help researchers, policymakers and practitioners work more effectively together to target evidence-based support at identified needs in a coherent system so that Service children can make informed and confident transitions through further and higher education into thriving lives.

Research by the University of Winchester (McCullouch and Hall, 2016) found that Service children are significantly underrepresented in higher education. Furthermore research by a range of partners shows that Service children can experience considerable social and emotional disruption impacting their mental health and wellbeing. The 172 stakeholders involved in the SCiP Alliance’s 2018 stakeholder consultation identified impacts such as periodic family stress, issues with continuity of curriculum and experience of frequent changes producing a transitory mindset which can affect the way Service children respond to situations, engage with school and other activities, form relationships and think about their future. Three quarters of respondents either ‘completely’ or ‘mostly’ felt that “Service children’s experiences can have an impact on their education that is significantly different from the challenges and opportunities experienced by other groups”. Service children may also accrue considerable strengths from their experiences, may have had to work harder to achieve on a par with their peers and frequently have a strong sense of identity and public service (McCullouch and Hall 2016).

The SCiP Alliance works with national partners such as the Ministry of Defence, Department for Education, Office for Students, Ofsted and UCAS and a host of HE, FE, LA and charity partners and has established a network of Hubs across the UK led by partners who are innovators in this field. The collaborative, integrated approach to bringing together researchers, practitioners and policy makers has led not only to new research collaborations and research-informed practical resources but also to systemic changes such as the recognition of Service students by the Office for Students (OfS) as a target group for HEI access. We have worked closely with the OfS to develop guidance to HEIs as they put together their Access and Participation Plans, and have recently collaborated with UCAS on guidance for HE applicants from Service families and on the introduction of a flag in the UCAS application form from 2020. This will not only allow HEIs to identify and support students but will strengthen future research by giving more accurate data on HE student numbers.

The widescale response from the sector, with partners taking a lead and developing innovative new research and practice in a coherent national network, is transforming the research, practice and policy landscape in this field and we are delighted to be partnering with the Veterans & Families Institute for Military Social Research and the Forces in Mind Trust Research Centre at Anglia Ruskin University to develop new research collaborations and to establish a SCiP Alliance East Anglia Hub.