البحث - الحصول على الأطباء البيطريين لإجراء محادثات

  1. جميع مرفقات الموضوع: -
الصفيف (1) {["topic_id"] => السلسلة (5) "13677"}
عرض المشاركات 5 - 1 من خلال 5 (من مجموع 5)
  • المستخدم / كاتب التعليق
    المشاركات
  • #13677

    بحث الأطباء البيطريين
    عندما أكملت أطروحة الدكتوراه في 2007 ، تمكنت من كتابة ذلك ، بينما كان هناك بحث كبير في محنة قدامى المحاربين الأمريكيين ، تم نشر القليل من العمل حتى ذلك الحين حول حياة وقصص قدامى المحاربين في القوات المسلحة البريطانية. منذ 2007 كانت هناك زيادة كبيرة في أبحاث قدامى المحاربين في القوات المسلحة البريطانية كما يتضح من العدد المتزايد من المقالات التي تظهر على هذا المحور. بصفتي باحثًا ، وحتى وقت قريب جدًا مدرسًا يوجه عمل طلاب ماجستير العلوم مع اهتمام بالبحث في المسائل العسكرية ، سئلت كثيرًا عن أفكار حول كيفية جعل المحاربين القدامى يتحدثون - لفتح ورواية قصصهم. هذه المدونة القصيرة هي طريقة واحدة أوصيت بها.

    الحصول على قدامى المحاربين في الحديث
    قدامى المحاربين فقط لأرجوحة الفانوس. أخبر وأروي قصصهم الحربية. كما يحب المحاربين القدامى أن يسردوا حكايات وقت السلم ، وهم يستمتعون بالسعادة أو الحزن على متن سفينة في ثكنات أو قاعدة جوية. يمكن أن يكون هذا التذكير سهل التدفق ، وعمومًا ، يحتاج المشاركون إلى القليل من التشجيع ، خاصةً إذا كان جميع المشاركين هم من قدامى المحاربين. ومع ذلك ، يقول الكثير من المحاربين القدامى مرارًا وتكرارًا ، أنه في محادثاتهم حول مدة الخدمة ، ما يناقشونه: "لن تفهم civvies". بالطبع ، قد يكون هذا الفهم بسبب ، إلى حد ما ، بسبب استخدام الجيش المصطلحات العامية والمختصرات التي هي جزء من اللغة اليومية للجيش.

    فهم اللغة
    كخبير في الجيش ، وجدت أنه من السهل إقامة علاقة مع قدامى المحاربين الذين شاركوا في بحثي. لقد ساعد الكشف عن خدمتي في فتح الباب أمام تواصل أسهل بكثير ، وأعلم نفسي وأنا قدامى المحاربين الذين أتحدث معهم أننا نفهم بعضنا البعض. بالطبع هناك دائمًا شكوك ؛ بعض الذين ليسوا مقتنعين تمامًا ببيانات الاعتماد الخاصة بي وغيرهم ممن يشككون في دوافع الباحثين الأكاديميين عمومًا! في بحث حديث ، سألت أحد المحاربين القدامى عما إذا كان في وضع قتالي. كان رده: "حسنًا ، إذا عدت Op Banner كنا على اتصال عدة مرات." كان مصحوبًا بنظرة سريعة للتحقق مما إذا كنت قد فهمت أن Op Banner يتعلق بفترة من النشاط العسكري في أيرلندا الشمالية ويعني أن "الاتصال" يعني انه ورفاقه قد أطلقوا النار عليه.

    فهم المعنى
    بالطبع ، هناك خطر في أي بحث ، لا سيما البحث النوعي الذي يعتمد على الكلمات ومعناها ، والتي ربما ، بصفتها جنديًا سابقًا ، قد أضع معنى مختلفًا. أو ربما أفتقد المزيد من الإجابات الدقيقة التي قد يلتقطها شخص غير متمرس. ومع ذلك ، أستبعد من وجهة نظري فيما يتعلق بالقدرة على الحصول على قدامى المحاربين كمشاركين في البحوث على التواصل بسهولة أكبر مع الباحثين.

    باستخدام الصور
    عند التحضير للمقابلات الشخصية وجهاً لوجه وإعداد المهام الإدارية المطلوبة مثل "متى وأين وماذا" وإنشاء "عملية موافقة مستنيرة" حسب الاقتضاء ، أطلب من المشاركين البحث عنهم وإحضارهم معهم (أو لتسليم إذا كنت أزورهم) مجموعة مختارة من الصور المتعلقة بخدمتهم العسكرية. إن تشجيع المشاركين في البحث على إحضار صور فوتوغرافية إلى جلسات المقابلات ، كوسيلة مساعدة بصرية ، يساعد إلى حد كبير في جعلهم "يفتحون" بسهولة أكبر.

    تأثير المساعدات البصرية
    بالإضافة إلى تزويد المشارك بتاريخه الخاص بالركض في الذاكرة ، قد يكون من المثير للاهتمام أيضًا ملاحظة نوع الصور التي احتفظ بها المخضرم واختياره ليحضرها إلى الجلسة. غالبًا ما يكون لدى قدامى المحاربين الذين قابلتهم باستخدام هذه الطريقة صور "جماعية" عديدة وسرور في الإشارة إلى صغرهم ، حيث تم التقاط الصورة وأن المجموعة كانت في دورة أو في مكان بعيد أو تمثل وحدتهم في رياضة معينة. يمكن أن تشمل الصور أيضًا المعدات والأسلحة والمواقع المحصنة ولقطات بعيدة عن "العدو" ، وللأسف ، أحيانًا صور لأصدقاء قتلوا أثناء القتال. بالطبع ، لا يختلف هذا النهج عند عرض ألبومات الصور في مناسبة عائلية ويتم الركض في الذكريات وإعادة سرد القصص. الفرق ، في سياق عملية البحث ، هو أن المخضرم قادر على التحضير ، بطريقة صغيرة ، لجلسة المقابلة وهذا يمكن أن يساعد في تقليل احتمالية حدوث ضغوط قد يواجهها بعض المقابلات

    الحصول عليها لوقف!
    إن تجربتي في هذا الأسلوب في إجراء المقابلات ، والمعروفة باسم استنباط الصور ، إلى جانب الاستخدام الدقيق لمذكرة شبه منظمة لمجالات المواضيع (على عكس قائمة الأسئلة المباشرة) هي أنها تساعد حقًا في الحصول على الحقائق. إيجاد محادثة تتدفق. في الواقع ، مع بعض المشاركين ، هذا هو اهتمامهم في شرح صورهم وبتذكير أنها فكرة جيدة أن تمدد إلى حد كبير مقدار الوقت الذي قد تفكر في تخصيصه لجلسات وجهًا لوجه.

    حساسية
    كما هو الحال دائمًا ، كباحثين ، فإننا نسعى جاهدين لعدم إلحاق أي ضرر. يمكن أن يكون استخدام الصور الخاصة بالمحاربين القدامى مفيدًا للغاية في بدء محادثة وفي إنشاء تدفق للبيانات المفيدة. على الرغم من ذلك ، يمكن أيضًا إثارة المشاعر القوية لحوادث الماضي المؤلمة والصدمة ومن الضروري للباحث أن يتوقع هذه الإمكانية ، وبتعاطف وعناية ، توجيه المحادثة إلى مجال أو موضوع مختلف.

    النظرية
    لا يتمثل الجانب الرئيسي في هذا النهج في دراسة محتوى كل صورة ، بل في كيفية استخدام المشاركين للمحتوى لإسناد المعنى الشخصي. تشير الأبحاث إلى أن الصور الفوتوغرافية التي تولدها الصور توفر رؤى قد لا يتم الكشف عنها من خلال الاستفسار اللفظي. هناك الكثير من الأدبيات حول استنباط الصور ، وقد أدرجت مجموعة صغيرة أدناه.

    اقتراحات للقراءة
    البنوك M. (2001) الأساليب البصرية في البحوث الاجتماعية. لندن ، سيج.
    Collier J. (1957) التصوير الفوتوغرافي في الأنثروبولوجيا: تقرير عن تجربتين. عالم الأنثروبولوجيا الأمريكية ، 59 ، ص. 843-859.
    Collier J.، Collier M. (1986) الأنثروبولوجيا البصرية: التصوير الفوتوغرافي كوسيلة بحثية (منقحة وموسعة). البوكيرك ، مطبعة جامعة نيومكسيكو.
    Harper D. (1984) المعنى والعمل: دراسة في استنباط الصور. المجلة الدولية للتصوير المرئي ، 2 ، ص. 20-43.
    فاغنر J. (1979) صور من المعلومات. منشورات حكيم ، بيفرلي هيلز / لندن.

    #13679

    شكرا لك على هذا ، جيم ، الثاقبة جدا ...

    سأقوم بإعادة نشر هذا باعتباره منشورًا في مدونة Hub / الترويج على Twitter وما إلى ذلك ، ورابطًا إلى منشور المنتدى هذا ، لتوجيه المزيد من الأشخاص هنا لقراءة ما لديك لتقوله حول هذا الأمر - وهي مسألة أعتقد أنها ستثير اهتمام العديد من الباحثين !

    هل لدى الآخرين أفكار حول هذا؟ كيف بنى الآخرون علاقة مع المحاربين القدامى الذين قابلتهم ، أو كيف تخططون لذلك؟ هل نظر أي شخص آخر في استخدام استحضار الصور؟

    شكر،

    كريستينا

    #13767

    نشر ممتاز Jim ، وأنا متأكد من أنه سيكون مفيدًا لجمهور واسع

    #13936

    جانبا ، أنا جزء من مبادرة "كنا هناك" في متحف الحرب الإمبراطوري ، حيث يتحدث المحاربون القدامى من جميع الأعمار عن تجاربهم للمدارس والأسر في أحد مواقع IWM. إنها طريقة رائعة لإعلام وترفيه أولئك الذين لن يكون لديهم أي شعور بواقع الخدمة العسكرية. سعيد لوضع أي شخص على اتصال مع المنظمين.

    #13990

    مرحبا اليكس،
    لتجنب عودة صفر - لاحظت معلوماتك على محادثات IWM. تبدو مثيرة للاهتمام وسوف تمر عليه.

عرض المشاركات 5 - 1 من خلال 5 (من مجموع 5)

يجب عليك تسجيل الدخول للرد على هذا الموضوع.

RESEARCH – GETTING VETERANS TO TALK

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #13677

    VETERANS RESEARCH
    When I completed my doctoral thesis in 2007 I was able to write that, whilst there was considerable research into the plight of US veterans, very little work had been published up until then on the lives and stories of British armed forces veterans. Since 2007 there has been a considerable increase in British armed forces veterans’ research as evidenced by the growing number of articles appearing on this hub. As a researcher, and until very recently a tutor guiding the work of MSc students with a research interest in military matters, I was frequently asked for ideas on how to get veterans to talk – to open up and tell their stories. This short blog is one approach I have recommended.

    Getting Veterans to Talk
    Veterans just love to swing the lantern; tell and retell their war stories. Veterans also love to relate tales of peacetime exploits amusing, happy or sad on board a ship, in a barracks or airbase. This reminiscing can be easy flowing and generally, the participants need little encouragement, especially so if all involved are themselves veterans. However, many veterans say time and again, that in their conversations about service life, what they discuss: “civvies just wouldn’t understand.” Of course, this lack of understanding can be due, to some extent, to the use of military jargon, slang, and abbreviations which are all part of the everyday language of the military.

    Understanding the Language
    As an army veteran, I have found it easy to establish rapport with veterans who have been my research participants. Revealing that I served has helped to open the door to much easier communication and both myself and the veterans I speak with know that we understand each other. There are of course always doubters; some who are not entirely convinced of my credentials and others who, perhaps, are suspicious of the motives of academic researchers generally! In recent research, I asked a veteran if he had ever been in a combat situation. His reply: “Well if you count Op Banner we were in contact several times.” was accompanied by a quizzical look to check if I understood that Op Banner related to a period of military activity in Northern Ireland and that being ‘in contact’ meant that he and his mates had been fired at.

    Understanding the Meaning
    Of course, there is the danger with any research, especially qualitative research which relies on words and their meaning, upon which I, as an ex-soldier might, perhaps, place a different meaning. Or, I might miss more nuanced responses which might be picked up by a non-veteran. However, I digress from my point concerning the ability to get veterans as research participants to engage more easily with researchers.

    Using Photographs
    In preparing for face to face interviews, setting up the required administrative tasks like ‘when, where and what for’ and establishing, as appropriate, an ‘informed consent process’, I also ask participants to seek out and bring with them (or have to hand if I am visiting them) a selection of photographs relating to their military service. Encouraging research participants to bring photographs to interview sessions, as a visual aid, greatly assists in getting them to ‘open up’ more easily.

    The Visual Aid effect
    In addition to providing the participant with his own memory jogging pictorial history, it can also be interesting to observe what sort of photographs the veteran has kept and selected to bring to the session. Veterans I have interviewed using this method often have several ‘group’ photographs and delight in pointing out their younger self, where the photograph was taken and that the group was on a course or in some remote location or representing their unit at a particular sport. Photographs can also include equipment and weapons, fortified locations, long distance shots of ‘the enemy’ and, sadly, sometimes pictures of friends killed in action. This approach is of course no different to when photo albums are brought out at a family occasion and memories are jogged and stories retold. The difference, in the context of the research process, is that the veteran is able to prepare, in a small way, for the interview session and this can help reduce the possibility of stress which some interviewees can experience

    Getting them to Stop!
    My experience of this approach to interviewing, known as photo elicitation, along with the careful use of a semi-structured aide-memoire of topic areas (as opposed to a list of direct questions) is that it really does help to get the fact-finding conversation flowing. In reality, with some participants, such is their interest in explaining their photographs and in reminiscing it is a good idea to greatly extend the amount of time you might consider allocating to face to face sessions.

    Sensitivity
    As always, as researchers, we strive to do no harm. Using a veteran’s own photographs can be very useful in getting a conversation started and in creating a flow of useful data. However strong emotions of past sad and traumatic incidents can also be aroused and it is essential for the researcher to anticipate this possibility and, with sympathy and care, steer the conversation to a different area or topic.

    The Theory
    A key aspect of this approach is not in studying the content of each photograph but rather in how participants use the content to attribute personal meaning. Research suggests, that the information photographic images generate, provide insights which might not be revealed through verbal inquiry. There is considerable literature on photo elicitation and I have included a small selection below.

    Recommended Reading
    Banks M. (2001)Visual Methods in Social Research. London, Sage.
    Collier J. (1957) Photography in anthropology: a report on two experiments. American Anthropologist, 59, p. 843-859.
    Collier J., Collier M. (1986) Visual Anthropology: Photography as a Research Method (revised and expanded). Albuquerque, University of NewMexico Press.
    Harper D. (1984) Meaning and work: a study in photo-elicitation. International Journal of Visual Photography, 2, p. 20-43.
    Wagner J. (1979) Images of Information. Sage publications, Beverly Hills/London.

    #13679

    Thank you for this, Jim, very insightful…

    I’m going to re-post this as a Hub blog post/promote on Twitter etc and link to this forum post, to direct more people here to read what you have to say on this – a matter that I think will interest many researchers!

    Do others have thoughts on this? How have others built rapport with the veterans they’ve interviewed, or how do you plan to? Has anybody else looked into using photo elicitation?

    Thanks,

    Kristina

    #13767

    Excellent post Jim, and I’m sure it will be useful to a wide audience

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.